About Healing Hearts…

The Healing Hearts after Divorce program

Divorce is heartbreaking, stressful, and even traumatic for a divorcing couple and any children they may have. Healing Hearts aims to make this process a better one by providing you with the information and tools necessary to move forward in a healthy meaningful way, providing the best opportunities for your children.

The three-hour Healing Hearts: Helping Families Recover from Divorce course, taught by Grief Limited’s Sara Wheeler, will help you:

  • Better understand the emotional process of divorce, how children react, and strategies for coping with divorce.
  • Identify behaviors that are harmful to your relationship with your child.
  • Discuss the divorce with your children.
  • Communicate with your former spouse to develop a co-parenting relationship.

Courses are offered the 1st and 3rd Saturday 9a–noon EST (8a to 11a CST), and the 2nd and 4th Thursday 7p–10p EST (6p–9p CST) at the Covington United Methodist Church. Reservations are required. Contact Sara Wheeler, Ph.D., RN PMHCNS-BC, LMHC at 765-366-6609 to reserve your place or register online now.

Meet your instructor

Sara Rich Wheeler, Ph.D., RN, PMHCNS-BC, as the lead instructor of Healing Hearts after Divorce, she has taught the Healing Hearts class for divorcing parents for over 18-years. Sara has a doctorate in psych-mental health nursing and a master’s degree in child/adolescent psych-mental health nursing. Besides being a registered nurse, she is also a licensed counselor and certified mediator for the State of Indiana.

Sara is the co-owner of Grief, Ltd. and the co-founder of Resolve Through Sharing, an international perinatal bereavement program for families who have experienced the loss of a baby through miscarriage, stillbirth, or newborn death. Sara is a co-author of the books “When a Baby Dies: A Handbook for Healing and Helping,” and “Goodbye My Child”.

Origins of the Healing Hearts Course

The course, Healing Hearts: Helping Families Recover from Divorce, offered by Grief Limited is inspired by the 1994 book “Healing Hearts: Helping Children and Adults Recover from Divorce”, written by Family Counselor Elizabeth Hickey, MSW and Mediator Elizabeth Dalton, JD (ISBN 1882723112). Grief Limited adapted the information into a streamlined course that covers the topics crucial to the wellbeing of you and your children. Topics include the responses (physical, emotional, social, and cognitive) of children and adults to divorce; help for you and your children to cope with and recover from a divorce; ways to improve communication with your children and ex-partner, along with skills for co-parenting. Handouts are given and one video is shown during the three-hour class. For more on the class flow, click here to go to the course outline.

The cost of the course is $40.00, paid at the time of the course with cash or money order.